A few entries in my personal diary

May 4, 2007 at 12:25 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

My uncle and nephew suffered burn injuries recently and they are both undergoing treatment.  My nephew’s injuries are far more extensive than my uncle’s, and they are both in ICU.  I pray that they recover and get back to normal health soon. 

 I have heard treatment and recovery from fire accidents is often very painful notwithstanding the pain relief medications.  Fire accidents involve burns and smoke intoxication.  Blast injuries can cause lung oedema or intentinal perforation, which may escape medical attention.  Clinical effects of smoke are asphyxia and lung irritation or respiratory tract injuries.  Less heavy asphyxia can result in vertigo, nausea and headache, disorientation and neurological symptoms.  Brief intoxication is a trap for physicians.  Victims with irritative effects complain of eye or skin itching, throat pain and cough.

I could get the above informations on the internet, namely from the following webpage:

http://www.ispub.com/ostia/index.php?xmlFilePath=journals/ijto/vol1n1/triage.xml.

I am a layman and have no connection with the medical profession.

I will be going away to Trichy to attend a wedding of a young lady, along with whom my daughter shared the IISC facilities when my daughter was doing a one-year project there.  I will be away from the evening of the 4th of May till the morning of the 8th.  With me will be travelling an ersewhile colleague of the bride.

This is the morning on the 4th May, and I am packed and ready since the last 15 days, as usual.  Though I like train journeys, I have my reservations regarding using the train toilets.  Hence I prefer short, overnight journeys to quit the train as early in the morning as possible and fina some good accommodation with good bathroom  and toilet facilities.  You may call me finicky.

I will have over 12 hours in Trichy but I may not get around much because half the day will go in attending the wedding.  I aim to travel with two bags, of which I will carry the lighter one to Trichy, leaving the other in Lalitha’s house in Chennai, where I propose to to as soon as I land in Chennai, so that I can collect my bag when I return to Chennai from Trichy.  I may not have much time going around visiting people but I shall try my best.  I shall surely drop in at Sankara Mama’s house to talk to Malathi Manni.

Again I plan to go to Madras in July to attend the wedding reception of my friend’s son.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

