A long, tiring day

March 16, 2007 at 10:47 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

I spent the whole of Friday trying to pack the whole household, of course with the help and expert guidance from Rupa’s mother who has come down from Pondicherry specially to help us organise our new home.  Raju and Rupa had been running around at Charlapally, coordinating all the cleaning and final touch-ups. 

Today it is going to be more hectic.  The electrician will be here at 7 a.m. as also our domestic help Pushpa.  Raju and I have to go to the cooking gas agency to obtain transfer voucher for the cooking at Charlapally.   Then Raju will proceed to Modi Properties Main office to obtain the official transfer papers and the formal handing over of the premises to us.  In the meantime, our breakfast will be ready at home and our lunch packed.  The packers and movers Rep. will bring the vehicles a while later because goods transports can ply on city roads only between 12 Noon to 5 P.M.

Once the household is moved to Charlapally we will be immersed in relocating all the articles to their respective nooks and places.  Atleast we will have to get our bedding arranged before nightfall so that we can sleep in comfort for the first time in our new home.

It will be Raju-Rupa’s wedding day on the 18th March, Raju’s birthday on the 20th, and our own wedding anniversary on the 25th.  So long as Kala was alive, we used to receive Mr. Jayaraman’s (R.G. Ramadas)  punctual and unfailing greeting to Kala and me  on our wedding day every year.  All that is past now and nevermore to be.  Let me not relapse into reveries and sadness on this busy happy day.

I am constantly updating Paplu about the progress.  We have arranged to shift our landline phone connection and it will be wireless telephone connection for the time being.  Because of this shift from landline to wireless connection, our present broadband connection cannot be enabled there in Charlapally.  Hence we have to seek the internet connection from some private agency.  Because Charlapally is on the very city limits, we lack certain city facilities.  But  no sweat.  There is always an alternative solution available for any problem.

We are all very happy with the way our new homes looks.  Though Raju and Rupa have to  drive about 45 minutes to office, they will return to a cozy home, a place of their own, in the evening.  They will be able to purchase all the home  needs on their way to office and back any day, and the most  important of all is that they will ride to office and back together.

Well, it is just a few more hours when things start rolling and we all get busy each in his own way for the exodus.  Kala’s spirit will be looking down on us benevolently and blessing Raju-Rupa on this joyous occasion.

I chafe my hands togetherin anticipation, and we will all wait a few months for Paplu to make her annual visit to the new home, sometime in July or August.  I am sure her eyes will enlarge in surprise and glee to see such a good home.  She will have her own room but will spend most of her time with me.

Alhamdulillah.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dear Sir,
    I came upon your site when I googled ‘Ramana Maharishi and my grandfather’. I am from Madurai too and knew someone we called ‘Baba Mami’ who said she was related to Bhagavan Ramana Maharishi…anyway, I did not get what I was looking for but I just started reading your blog.
    Sorry to hear about your wife’s demise. It is wonderful how you describe her and your time with her. I wish you the best!

  2. Thank you. Sorry to disappoint you when you expected to find more substance from my Posts. I just ramble for my personal satisfaction. I am really surprised when people condescend to comment. Once I even received a comment from someone saying that my Posts are boring. However I keep at it just so that I can sometimes read it to relive my past.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

