I am hitting the Road

December 28, 2006 at 4:50 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

After some time, I am going South again,  with my son and daughter having chalked their separate travel plans.  Our itinerary was like this:

Date

Activity

15-Jan

I leave for Chennai by train

18-Jan

Start for Thiruvannamalai  by  bus

20-Jan

Start for Pondicherry

17-Jan

Rupa & Raju Start from Hyd

18-Jan

Reach Salem, and from there Yercaud

19-Jan

Enjoy

20-Jan

Enjoy

21-Jan

Reach Pondy

22-Jan

Rajgo heads to chennai early morning

23-Jan

Raju & Appa & Rupa take Chennai Express

We almost gave up at our first attempt because the travel agent said Salem direct trains were all full.  Initially we were about to postpone the trip to February.  I suggested an alternative for Raju and Rupa to split it by separate trains, the first from Hyderabad to Chennai followed by another train from Chennai to Salem.  Fortunately when we rushed for our reservations, we could get confirmed accommodation in all the required trains and the bookings were successfully accomplished.

When I return from these trips I would have achieved one of my cherished goals in life, that of visiting the Ramanashram, and paerticularly meditating at the samadhi of my paternal granduncle Viswanathaswamy.

I remember a vow my late wife took on my behalf, that of carrying the ‘kavadi’ in the sannidhi of the Tiruvateeswarar Temple in Triplicane.  I am sure that with the support and encouragement of my progeny,  I will realise this too in my lifetime.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You write very well. Your revealing trips thru your memory lane is delightful to read. Please go on.

    I plan to visit Madras after a very long time
    in the New Year. May be, god willing we will meet.

  2. Thanks for your encouraging words. Let me put you in the proper perspective. I now live in Hyderabad since the last five years. I had lived in Madras all my life with three years break at poona, and moved to Hyderabad with my wife to join my son employed there. Actually I am going to chennai on the 15th, then to Thiruvannamalai on the 18th, and then on to Pondicherry on the 20th and return to Hyderabad on the 22nd. You can be my friend on ORKUT also, or through mail to my id: popbadam@yahoo.com. Are you my age? I suppose not. I am 61. Thanks once again. Narayanan.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.